Search Results

Looking for an SFU resource?

Some of our resources live on the main SFU website. Please follow the link below to search on

Simon Fraser University Logo




Graduate Programs

Undergraduate Programs


excellence in teaching

Awards and Distinctions

TD Canada Trust Distinguished Teaching Awards

The TD Canada Trust Distinguished Teaching Award Endowment Fund was established in the fall of 1989 through a $50,000 gift from TD Canada Trust and matching monies from a Provincial Government Program. The purpose of the award is to recognize excellent teaching by members SFU Beedie School of Business and is based on excellence and distinction in teaching and in teaching related activities such as course development and preparation of teaching materials.

Nominations are requested in the Spring of each year and are accepted for any Business tenure-track faculty members, lecturers, or instructors based on the following eligibility criteria:

  • Must be nominated by students who have taken or are taking Beedie courses, Beedie alumni, or Beedie faculty
  • Eligible for the award after 6 teaching semesters
  • Previous winners are eligible after a 4 calendar-year hiatus (once every 5 years)
No member of the award selection committee, Chair of the Tenure & Promotions Committee, or teaching assistants are eligible.

After the call for nominations has closed, the Teaching Effectiveness Committee, which consists of three faculty members and one student representative, selects the winners based on information gathered about the nominees from a variety of sources. One valuable information source is the comments obtained from a random sample of the nominees’ present and former students. These comments provide important and useful information that the Selection Committee uses to help determine the award recipients.

Call for Nominations

Nominations are now open for the 2024 TD Canada Trust Distinguished Teaching Awards. Up to two awards are presented each year to instructors teaching at SFU Beedie's undergraduate or graduate programs.

Nominations can be made through our web survey.

Deadline for nominations is Friday, May 17th 2024. If you have any problems accessing this survey please contact

Past Award Winners

2023 Andrew Harries
Joey Lam
2022 Scott MacEachern
Mark Moore
2021 Shauna Jones
Michael Parent
2020 Natalie Zhao
Christian Venhuizen
2019 Simon Ford
Drew Parker
2018 Andrew Flostrand
Shafik Bhalloo
2017 Lisa Papania
Elicia Maine
2016 Avi Bick
Sarah Lubik
2015 Kathleen Burke
Kamal Masri
2014 June Francis
Adam Mills
2013 Shafik Bhalloo
Anthony Chan
2012 Todd Green
Sudheer Gupta
2011 Rick Iverson
Michael Johnson
2010 Ian McCarthy
Drew Parker
2009 Kamal Masri
John Peloza
2008 Scott Powell
Stephen Spector
2007 Geoffrey Poitras
Peter Tingling
2006 Avi Bick
Leyland Pitt
2005 Derek Yee
Dave Hannah
2004 Carolyn Egri
Rick Iverson
2003 Ed Bukszar
Mark Wexler
2002 Anne Macdonald
Daniel Shapiro
2001 Barb Edwards
Andrew Gemino
2000 Drew Parker
Bill Wedley
1999 Colleen Collins-Dodd
Alain Duncan
1998 Peter Klein
Bill McCourt
1997 George Blazenko
Blaize Reich
1996 Maureen Fizzell
Daniel Shapiro
1995 Ed Bukszar
Mark Wexler
1994 Chris Jones
Steve Havlovic
1993 Peter Clarkson
Andrew Gemino
1992 Allan Matadeen
Zelma Rebmann-Huber
1991 Alain Duncan
Mark Wexler
1990 George Blazenko