Centre for Global Workforce Strategy

IHRM research: It's time to review, reset, and re-imagine!

Free

This webinar series is a partnership between 5 academic institutions - showcasing experts bringing IHRM research & practice together

About this event

IHRM research: It's time to review, reset, and re-imagine!

About the Presentation

Drawing from their recent reviews of 60 years of research in international and comparative HRM, published inHuman Resource Management (2021) and the Asia Pacific Journal of Human Resources (2021), Helen De Cieri and Karin Sanders will discuss and raise questions such as: How do we define the field of International and Comparative HRM? What are the three identified research streams within the field? What has been studied within the field of international and comparative HRM, with regard to theoretical frameworks, concepts investigated, and research methods used? Which perspectives have been privileged and which have been ignored, with regard to authors and participants in research? Are there features that are specific to research on international and comparative HRM in the Asia Pacific context? If we view the COVID-19 pandemic as a catalyst for a 'great re-set', how should we re-imagine the field of IHRM? The speakers will discuss such questions and encourage researchers and practitioners to examine challenges and opportunities in IHRM.

Date: Thursday, March 3, 2022

Time:


  • 12 p.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver)
  • 3 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT (Boston, New York, Miami)
  • 8 p.m. – 9 p.m. GMT (United Kingdom)
  • 9 p.m. – 10 p.m. CET (Vienna, Berlin, Paris, Zagreb)
  • 11 p.m. – 12 a.m. TRT, MSK (Istanbul, Moscow)
  • 4 a.m. - 5 a.m. CST (Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Taipei)*
  • 5 a.m. – 6 a.m. JPT (Tokyo, Kyoto) *
  • 7 a.m. – 8 a.m. AEDT (Melbourne, Sydney)*

  • *Friday, March 4th 


    Use this Time Zone Converter to find your local time

    As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded to share with registrants who are not able to attend the live session.

    Event Access: This event will be hosted virtually on Zoom. Event access links will be provided 24 hours prior to the event start.


    Cost: Complimentary but registration is required to attend or receive the link to the recording


    Inquiries: beedie-events@sfu.ca


    Speakers

    Helen De Cieri (Ph.D.) is a Professor of Management at Monash Business School, Monash University, Australia. Her work has been published in journals such as Human Resource Management, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of World Business, Leadership Quarterly and Journal of Organizational Behavior. Her current research activities combine her interests in international HRM and employee health and wellbeing.

    Karin Sanders (Ph.D.) is a Professor of Human Resource Management (HRM) and Organizational Behavior at UNSW Business School, UNSW Sydney, Australia. Her work has been published in journals such as Human Resource Management, Human Resource Management Journal, Journal of Vocational Behavior, Academy of Management Learning & Education, Organization Studies and Organization Science. Her research activities focus on the antecedent and consequences of employees’ understanding and attribution of HRM.


    This session will be moderated by Marion Festing, Professor of Human Resource Management and Intercultural Leadership, ESCP Business School, Berlin, Germany.


    About This Series

    This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Penn State Center for International Human Resource Studies and Clarion University of Pennsylvania (USA), and ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).

    Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.

    About this Event

    Zoom event access information will be provided all registered attendees 24 hours prior to the event start.

    For inquires about this event, please contact: beedie-events@sfu.ca