Centre for Global Workforce Strategy

Migration & Business: Current Issues & Future Trends

Free



This webinar series is a partnership between 5 academic institutions - showcasing experts bringing IHRM research & practice together

About this event

Migration & Business: Current Issues & Future Trends


About the Presentation


Over the past decades, global migration patterns have been undergoing significant, although often underestimated, transformations. The directionality, geographic spread, climate and urban migration, and skills involved have resulted in changes in demand and supply of the workforce. In turn, this has affected corporate human resource management and social sustainability practices as well as the diversity, inclusion, and internationalization strategies of firms. In this presentation, Aida Hajro and Milda Zilinskaite address the implications of these changes for the activities of multinational enterprises and highlight many unanswered questions and avenues for future research.

The presentation is based on evidence from the interdisciplinary literature and supported by the first-hand insights from the Advisory Board members – leading scholars, seasoned practitioners, and policy and human rights experts – of the international Migration, Business and Society (MBS) network. One of the MBS board members, Paul Baldassari, will be joining the presentation to share concrete managerial implications from his migration management experience as the Executive Vice President of Operations Strategy & Former Chief Human Resources Officer at the multinational electronics manufacturer Flex Ltd.


Date: Thursday, January 20, 2022

  • 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver)
  • 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT (Boston, New York, Miami)
  • 16:30 p.m. – 17:30 p.m. GMT (United Kingdom)
  • 17:30 p.m. – 18:30 p.m. CET (Vienna, Berlin, Paris, Zagreb)
  • 19:30 p.m. – 20:30 p.m. TRT, MSK (Istanbul, Moscow)
  • 00:30 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. CST (Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Taipei)
  • 01:30 a.m. – 2:30 a.m. JPT (Tokyo, Kyoto)
  • 03:30 a.m. – 4:30 a.m. AEDT (Melbourne, Sydney)
  • Use this Time Zone Converter to find your local time

    As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded to share with registrants who are not able to attend the live session.

    Event Access:

    This event will be hosted virtually on Zoom. Event access links will be provided 24 hours prior to the event start.

    Cost:

    Complimentary but registration is required to attend or receive the link to the recording

    Inquiries: beedie-events@sfu.ca


    Speakers


    Aida Hajro is incoming Chair in International Business at University of Leeds. Her current interests lie in sustainable development, with special focus on the social-side of sustainability, specifically, migration. In her research, she addresses how multinational corporations tackle migration-specific targets as reflected in the Sustainable Development Goals of the UN Agenda 2030. Her work has been published in journals, such as Academy of Management Journal, Journal of World Business, Academy of Management Learning and Education, and Human Resource Management Journal. It has been also recognized by prestigious awards including the Academy of Management Review Outstanding Reviewer Award, Academy of Management IMD Robert H. Schaffer Award, and the British Academy of Management Award. Aida is also a co-founder of “Migration, Business, and Society” (https://www.migrationbusinesssociety.net/).

    Milda Žilinskaitė is currently a Senior Scientist and Center Manager at the Competence Center for Sustainability Transformation and Responsibility, Vienna University of Economics and Business, and a visiting faculty at the International Anti-Corruption Academy. Her research and teaching interests span the areas of (social) sustainability and the SDGs, labor migration, business ethics, and cross-cultural management. She is also grateful to have a personal history of lower-status jobs as a migrant in the U.S. These experiences in particular have been an inspiration behind the co-founding the Migration, Business & Society global network initiative.

    Paul Baldassari is the Executive Vice President of US and Component Operations, Strategy and Excellence at Flex, the global manufacturing partner of choice that helps a diverse customer base design and build products to improve the world. In his capacity, Mr. Baldassari oversees the company’s global Engineering, Quality, Operational Excellence, Asset and Real Estate Teams. Most recently, Mr. Baldassari served as the Executive Vice President Strategic Programs developing Corporate Strategy and implementing key strategic initiatives. He held several positions of increasing responsibility in his career including Chief Human Resource Officer for the company, General Manager and in Operational Excellence. He is also researching Sustainable Human Resource Management and has published articles and presented work on migrant workers, HRM and SDGs and Green HRM.

    This session will be moderated by Mila Lazarova, Canada Research Chair, Professor of International Business, SFU Beedie School of Business and Centre Director for Centre for Global Workforce Strategy.



    About This Series

    This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Penn State Center for International Human Resource Studies and Clarion University of Pennsylvania (USA), and ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).

    Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.

    About this Event

    Zoom event access information will be provided all registered attendees 24 hours prior to the event start.

    For inquires about this event, please contact: beedie-events@sfu.ca