Centre for Global Workforce Strategy

How IHRM can (re)gain the scholarly high ground

IHRM Webinar Series with Markus Pudelko V2

About this event

Is International Human Resource Management (IHRM) under the resource-based view too relevant to be left to IHRM scholars? How IHRM can (re)gain the scholarly high ground

The resource-based view argues that sustainable competitive advantage derives from developing superior capabilities and resources. For organizations, no other resource is as relevant as human resources – and in times of globalization this implies international human resources. As a consequence, strategy research moved increasingly away from a microeconomics to a behavioral paradigm. This should have implied golden times for (I)HRM scholarship. But was this the case? Probably not. One could gain the impression that international human resources are perceived as simply too relevant to be left to IHRM scholars. After briefly retracing the development of IHRM as a scholarly field, this webinar puts forward suggestions of how to make IHRM scholarship more relevant.

Date: Friday, June 24, 2022



Time:

  • 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver)
  • 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT (Boston, New York, Miami)
  • 4:30 – 5:30 p.m. BST (United Kingdom)
  • 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. CEST (Vienna, Berlin, Paris, Zagreb)
  • 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. TRT, MSK (Istanbul, Moscow)
  • 11:30 p.m. - 12:30 a.m. CST (Beijing, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Taipei)
  • 12:30 – 1:30 a.m. JST (Tokyo, Kyoto)
  • 1:30 – 2:30 a.m. AEST (Melbourne, Sydney)
  • 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. UCT. Use this Time Zone Converter to find your local time
As an international partnership, the IHRM series welcomes speakers from all over the world and multiple time zones. This session will be recorded to share with registrants who are not able to attend the live session.

Event Access:

This event will be hosted on Zoom. Access links will be provided 24 hours prior to the start.

Cost:

Complimentary but registration is required to attend or receive the link to the recording

Inquiries: beedie-events@sfu.ca

About the speaker

Professor Markus Pudelko is Director of the Department of International Business at Tübingen University School of Business and Economics. He earned Master degrees in Business Studies (University of Cologne), Economics (Sorbonne University) and International Management (Community of European Management Schools - CEMS) and a PhD (University of Cologne).

Before joining Tübingen University, he worked for eight years for the University of Edinburgh Business School. For longer-term research purposes, he visits frequently other universities, such as Columbia University, Doshisha University, Dubai University, EAFIT, ESCP, Fudan University, Hebrew University Jerusalem, IESE, Korea University, Melbourne University, Peking University, San Francisco de Quito University, San José State University, Simon Fraser University, Sophia University, Stellenbosch University, Sydney University, Umea University, Vaasa University and Waseda University.

His current research focuses on headquarters-subsidiary relationships, multinational individuals and teams, the impact of language on international business, trust, international HRM, Chinese and Japanese management and cross-cultural management. He has published on these topics in books, book chapters and journals such as Academy of Management Journal, Human Resource Management, Journal of International Business Studies, Journal of World Business, Leadership Quarterly and Long Range Planning. He has received several research awards, among others from the Academy of Management and the Academy of International Business.

This session will be moderated by Maral Muratbekova, Professor of the Department of Management, ESCP Business School, Paris, France.

About this series

This event is part of an IHRM Webinar Series, organized by the Centre for Global Workforce Strategy at Simon Fraser University (Canada), the Center for International Human Resource Studies at the Pennsylvania State University (USA), Clarion (soon to be Pennsylvania Western) University (USA), and ESCP Business School and RIT Croatia (Europe).

Previous installments of the IHRM Webinar Series are available online at our YouTube Channel.